Stardust

stardust (1)

Fantasy is a slightly tricky genre to navigate through (read). There seem to be a huge number of fantasy novels; how in the world are you supposed to choose? (For example, I love Edith Nesbit’s The Phoenix and The Carpet, but Philip Pullman and the Inkheart series (Funke) were a bit too dark). Plus all the covers look really pretty, and the blurbs at the back don’t help (critically) either. So when I stumbled upon Neil Gaiman when I was searching for ‘authors like terry pratchett’ (err..yes, I do that a lot, even though the results are seldom accurate), I decided he was a must read, and finally got around to it with Stardust. Gaiman is apparently one of the top fantasy authors today, and he’s also co-written a novel with Pratchett (Good Omens).

So Stardust is the story of Tristran Thorn, from the village of Wall, just outside which exists the world of the faerie. Tristran enters the other world in quest of a fallen star, while unbeknownst to him, many other forces are at work in the same pursuit. How their paths cross and who gets the star makes up the rest of the story.

I loved the book. It was a wonderful read, simple and enchanting. It does not aim to be (thankfully) a clear retelling of any one particular fairytale (I don’t like FT remixes, why would you like to know whether or not Prince Charming was an MCP?), and mixes in loads of FT and nursery rhyme elements, giving the whole thing a sort of dreamy and what I call the ‘proper-fantasy’ feel.

Gaiman somehow manages to weave in nearly every clichéd fairytale trope without making it feel repetitive or overcrowded. The wicked witch (or 3), royalty, commoners, the seventh son of a seventh son, a non-human sidekick to the hero, a sweet love story, a family reunion; it’s all there in Stardust, except it’s got that extra bit of stardust sprinkled over it (this is where my 3 followers leave me due to an intolerance for obvious puns).

A must-read for fantasy lovers, fairytale lovers and quest lovers. Dear discerning readers (cuz you’re following my blog), do read it and tell me how you liked it, or if you could recommend other books like this one, you get one paid (i.e. by you) trip to India free.

P.S. There’s also a movie based on the book (*screams in delight*).. 😀

P.P.S. Tried reading American Gods, but it was soo weird and different from this, have left it halfway; please tell me someone else also feels this way.. 😛

P.P.P.S. Ticking off the magic box.. 🙂

finaledit

4 thoughts on “Stardust

  1. I haven’t read this one but I ‘found’ Neil Gaiman last year and have been sampling some of his stuff – I find him a bit variable but when he’s good, he’s brilliant! His graphic novel The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains is truly wonderful – but you must read it on paper, the pictures add so much to the story. I’m planning to read The Ocean at the End of the Lane soon – I’ve seen some great reviews of it around the blogosphere.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He does seem to be a bit variable..American Gods is so different I wouldn’t have known it’s the same author..ooh I have been a bit lost about the graphic box..but ‘Truth is a cave..’ doesn’t seem to be available (i.e. it’s very expensive) here though.. 😦 Never mind, someone recommended the Sandman series too..I’ll try that out.. 🙂
      Ooh I just started ‘The Ocean at the End..’, but then it felt slightly macabre a few pages in; I’m yet to get back to it..I know this makes me sound so much of a book ditcher (I’m not.. 😛 ). I’ll wait for your review of it then.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s absolutely brilliant that you liked ‘Phoenix and the Carpet’! Perhaps I’m being insular again but it’s always delightfully amazing when someone from another country (continent!) has read and liked something that’s so intrinsic to my own culture/country – I’d love to hear your take on it!

    There is a film of Stardust – they trot it out at Christmas here – but I didn’t think it really came off when I saw it, though you could tell there was an interesting story there. Sorry.

    I read Pullman’s ‘His Dark Materials’ trilogy and couldn’t see what everyone was raving about. A nice little story but I’m sure I’ve read something along similar lines before. The film of the first one was good though.

    What’s MCP??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s nice to hear.. 🙂 we do read quite a lot of British fiction here..I love Nesbit..she’s hilarious..sort of Enid Blyton meets Wodehouse.. 😀
      Ooh ok, I’m planning to watch it myself, but the movie is hardly ever better than the book, so not very high expectations.. 😛
      His Dark Materials was a bit too dark for me, though I read all three..I agree, there’s a lot of that daemon stuff about, similar to a witch’s ‘familiar’, I guess..I liked the multiple universe thingy though..it was nicely done.
      MCP is male chauvinist pig.. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

